kDebug() << "Hello planet!";

October 28, 2009 at 4:10 am 5 comments

Dear planet

This is my first planet indexed post, so I guess it would be nice to present myself. My name is Adenilson Cavalcanti (a.k.a. Savago in freenode), in case you don’t known what is IRC, I guess you can just skip what comes next in this text.

My first contact with computers was back in 1989 with a second-hand apple II clone. They were quite common in Brazil back then, when thanks to some stupid government policy, it was forbidden to import any product that had a national equivalent (which means that a IBM PC XT 8088 was a dream at time).

During my under graduation in Engineering at USP (University of Sao Paulo), I focused in all math/statistical and computer related courses available. My companion at that time was a trustworthy HP 48G graphical calculator, where I used user/sysRPL to grok matrix, linear algebra and calculus. Yes, my dear HP is still working fine, from time to time I turn it on to remember the old and good days.

I think at about this time I decided that C and C++ where proper languages for ‘real’ programmers. While in undergraduation, I did a 2 years research project coding in C++ for MS-Windows (1999-2001) a.k.a. ‘the dark ages’. After getting fed up of bugs, lack of documentation and no access to source code, I moved to Linux in 2001 and never came back. I think started by using KDE 1.9.x (my first Linux distro was Conectiva 6, now known as Mandriva). Fast forward a few years and I contributed a few pet projects back to opensource/freesoftware comunity (amora and libgcal)

This year I decided that it was about time to contribute to KDE and wrote the gcalendar/contacts akonadi resources and realized what great community KDE has. Keeping the door open for newcomers helps to attract new talent and innovation (maybe other OSS/freesoftware projects could learn a lot from KDE in this aspect). In the recent months, I have being hacking in plasma (but this is the subject of another post).

Finally, I’m quite happy to be in KDE Planet and hope to write more frequently and keep this blog alive.

ps: I guess now there is KDE developer that was supposed to make a video about his android phone and KDE-pim…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

One month of akonadi googledata Nokia Booklet 3G: unboxing

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Thiago Macieira  |  October 28, 2009 at 7:53 am

    Welcome from a fellow politécnico.

    I still have my HP-48G here at home 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. afiestas  |  October 28, 2009 at 10:37 am

    Uee! finally I see this! wich remember I’ve to record some video for you :p

    I’ll do it when I’m in home.

    cya!

    Reply
  • 3. jospoortvliet  |  October 28, 2009 at 11:05 am

    android & kdepim video huh… We’re eagerly awaiting more from you 😀

    Reply
  • 4. nuno pinheiro  |  October 28, 2009 at 11:14 am

    I still turn on my old HP48 from time to time as well 🙂 such a nice machine. loved programing in it

    Reply
  • 5. Stu  |  October 28, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    Wow, seems you’ve been quite busy already.

    We love Plasma blog posts so keep it coming 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


